Skip to main content

GA Courses – FAQs

When is the renewal date for my insurance license?

On or before the last day of your birth month, every other year

When does my license expire?

Licenses expire on the last day of the licensees’ birth month every other year.

How do I renew my license?

You must file the renewal form along with the fee and evidence of CE requirements before the expiration.

Can I repeat a course?

Licensees cannot receive credit for the same CE course taken multiple times within the same CE reporting period. After the date of license renewal, you may repeat the course and receive credit for the next renewal period.

Can I carryover excess credits?

Yes, the excess credit may be carried over to the next renewal period. No more than 50% of required CE hours can be carryover hours, in any renewal period.

How many hours of CE do I need if I am a Georgia resident?

Resident Licensees who have been licensed for less than 20 years – 24 hours of insurance CE must be completed every two years (3 hours must be in ethics)

Resident Licensees who have been licensed for more than 20 years – visit to check your CE requirements.

What do I need to score on my exam to pass?

You must receive a 70% or higher on your proctored final exam to pass each CE course. If you fail, you are able to retake the exam until you receive a 70% or higher score.

Can a family member proctor my exam?

No, the exam must be proctored by a disinterested third party. They cannot be an individual you are related to or have a financial interest with.

Do I have to report my credit hours to the state?

CE provider will submit your credit hours directly to the state.

Is the final exam open book?

No, all CE final exams are closed book.

What courses can I take to satisfy my total hour requirement?

Continuing education must be completed in any area the licensee is licensed in. 3 hours must be ethics

Am I exempt from Continuing Education?

Best to contact the Georgia Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commission at (404) 656-2070.

How do I find my license number?

You can find your license number, and license details by going to

Where do I go to renew my license?

Go to

Have the following:

  • Your license number
  • Your date of birth
  • The 6-digit renewal ID number OR last 4 digits of your social security number
  • Your email address
  • Credit card or debit card
How will I know when my license is renewed?

Once you have successfully completed the renewal process, your renewed license will be emailed to you by Sircon.

What if I failed to renew by my expiration?

You may file a late renewal with the appropriate fee up to 15 days after the license expires. After this period, you must file for late renewal reinstatement and an additional penalty of $150.

If it is received more than one year after the date of expiration, you must reapply for the license.